Your browser does not support the HTML5 canvas tag.

08 February, 2017

MPs vote for no parliamentary veto over May’s Brexit

British lawmakers vote against parliamentary veto power over Prime Minister Theresa May’s Brexit deal. Labour MP Chris Leslie’s proposed amendment was rejected by a majority of 33 MPs on Tuesday. The move makes it easier for the government to clinch a Brexit deal without much trouble from the parliament.

May is attempting to get the article 50 bill through the House of Commons without any change. Triggering Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty would start the formal negotiations on Brexit.

The process was facilitated after the amendment was rejected 312 to 293 Tuesday. Seven Conservatives voted for the amendment along with 210 Labour and 54 Scottish National Party (SNP) MPs. Earlier in the day, the MPs also voted against an SNP amendment by 336 votes to 88.

On Wednesday, MPs are set to vote on another Brexit-related issue concerning European Union nationals living in the UK.


No comments:

Post a Comment